Evening News Insight – July 18, 2022

?539 Covid-19 patients have recovered from the disease in Odisha in the last 24 hours. The total recovered cases of Odisha now stand at 1285374.
?Out of 218 new Covid positive cases detected in Khordha district today, 195 are from Bhubaneswar. Active cases in the Capital City stand at 1192.
?Congress MLA Md Moquim votes for NDA’s Presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee Chief Sarat Pattanayak considers disciplinary action.
?Kidney transplant at AIIMS Bhubaneswar to start from August 2022.
?Hirakud dam releases season’s first floodwater today. Five sluice gates were opened to discharge the floodwater in the first phase.
?Puri District ADJ-1 awards life imprisonment to 20 people on charges of killing a person over land dispute in Galajipipur under Kanas PS in 2012.
?NEET UG 2022 Racket busted! CBI arrests 8 including mastermind and solvers who were impersonating on behalf of candidates.
?Polling for the 16th Presidential election closed at 5pm. Of 736 electors, 728 cast their votes which consists of 719 MPs & 9 MLAs. Electors’ turnout for Presidential polls was 98.91%.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

?8 MPs didn’t vote in the Presidential Election – BJP (2), Shiv Sena (2), Congress (1), Samajwadi Party (1), BSP (1), AIMIM (1).
?Manipur Governor La. Ganesan assigned the additional charge of West Bengal.
?Bus heading towards Maharashtra fell into the Narmada river in Madhya Pradesh’s Dhar district; 13 dead, 15 rescued.
?2nd positive case of Monkey Pox in Kerala has been confirmed in Kannur District.
?Supreme Court orders ‘no precipitative action’ against Alt News co-founder Mohammed Zubair till July 20, next date of hearing. Zubair will continue to be in jail till then.
?Nupur Sharma approaches Supreme Court, seeks protection from arrest and clubbing of FIRs.
?England all-rounder Ben Stokes to retire from ODIs after Tuesday’s match against South Africa.
?S Korea extends travel ban on Ukraine, six other countries.
?Singapore asks ex-Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to leave.

Comments are closed.