Breaking News. Latest News. Online News.

Haraprasad Das to get Moortidevi Award 2013


Noted writer Dr. Haraprasad Das has been chosen for the prestigious ‘Moortidevi Award’ for his book, ‘Vamsha’. The book is a recreation of Mahabharat in a new style of literature. Dr. Das is the second person from Odisha to receive this coveted award. Earlier in 1991, Dr. Pratibha Ray received the award for her novel ‘Yagnaseni’.

Haraprasad-DasThe literary award carries a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, a plaque, a statue of goddess Saraswati and a shawl. The award is being presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization. A committee chaired by Union Petroleum Minister Veerappa Moily, selected Dr. Das for this award in 2013.

‘Vamsha’ was published in 2008 by Paschima Publications in Bhubaneswar. Dr. Dash has already won many other awards such as Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award, National Sahitya Akademi Award, Sarala Award, Gangadhar Meher Award etc.

Comments are closed.