62.71% Polling reported in Kandhamal Bypoll

Voters-OdishaThe voting in Kandhamal Lok Sabha bypoll has been by and large peaceful, with 62.71% people exercising their franchise today. Although the voter turnout is 11% less than the polling percentage (74%) recorded during 2014 general elections, it is still considered good for a bypoll.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

While 60% voter turnout was recorded in Baliguda, it was 61% in G Udaygiri. Phulbani recorded 65% polling, while 67% voter turnout was reported from Kantamal. Boudh (60%), Dasapalla (64%) and Bhanjanagar (62%) too reported good polling today.

In total, seven candidates are in the fray in Kandhamal, but the main fight will be between Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh (BJD), Rudra Madhav Ray (BJP) and Abhimanyu Behera (Congress). The bypoll was necessitated following the death of BJD MP Hemendra Chandra Singh on September 5. Results will be declared on October 19.

Comments are closed.