West Indies win ICC T20 World Cup 2012


TNI Bureau: West Indies scored an emphatic 36-run victory over hosts Sri Lanka in the final to win the ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012. The last time they had won a major ICC tournament was in 2004. The Caribbeans had won the ICC Champions Trophy in that year.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

West Indies won the toss and elected to bat first. On a slow and low wicket, they had scored 137/6 in 20 overs. Marlon Samuels made 78, while Darren Sammy remained unbeaten on 26. Ajantha Mendis took four wickets.

Chasing a victory target of 138, Sri Lanka bowled out for 101 in 18.4 overs. Jayawardene scored 33. Sangakkara made 22. Kulasekara scored 26 off 13 balls. Sunil Narine took three wickets, while Darren Sammy took two wickets.

Leave A Reply