ULB Polls begin in Western Odisha


The much-awaited ULB elections in Western Odisha has begun amidst tight security arrangements. An estimated 4,92,932 voters are expected to cast their votes for 20 ULBs (Urban Local Bodies) that are going to polls today.

EVMIn total, 1,102 candidates are in the fray across the 301 wards. The elections will be held for 9 Municipalities and 11 NACs in Sambalpur, Sundergarh, Bargarh, Balangir, Sonepur, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi and Nuapara districts.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The BJD has fielded 301 candidates, while the BJP has fielded 268 candidates. The Congress is not far behind with 240. The BJP has an edge over its rivals in Western Odisha. However, the Congress and BJD have left no stones unturned to stun the saffron party and gain maximum seats. The triangular contest has made the 2013 ULB polls in Western Odisha very interesting. Counting will be held tomorrow.

The ULBs that are going to polls, include Patnagarh NAC, Kantabanji NAC, Bargarh Municipality, Barpali NAC, Padmapur NAC, Deogarh Municipality, Brajarajnagar Municipality, Jharsuguda Municipality, Bhawanipatna Municipality, Kesinga NAC, Junagarh NAC, Khariar Road NAC, Khariar NAC, Kuchinda NAC, Sonepur Municipality, Binka NAC, Tarbha NAC, Biramitrapur Municipality, Rajgangpur Municipality and Sundargarh Municipality.

Comments are closed.