Sub-Judge Court inaugurated at Umerkote


TNI Bureau (By Sanjib Subudhi): Hon’ble Justice Sri Birakishore Misra of Orissa
High Court on Saturday inaugurated the Court of Civil Judge (Sr.) Division(Sub-judge) here. It was a longstanding demand of the advocates of the Umerkote Bar.

Initially, the court will function in the Old court located near Jagarnath Temple. According to sources, a new building for the court and its staff would be constructed soon.

The chief guest was welcomed at a procession with local tribal traditional dance ‘dhemsa’. The inaugural function was addressed by Umerkote Bar Association President Prasant Kumar Sahu who thanked all for fulfilling the long cherishes dreams of people in Umerkote area.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Justice Misra lightened the lamps and said that people of this locality have got their demand fulfilled. He further said that he is committed to do needful things for the betterment of judiciary in the remote areas of KBK districts.

He appealed to the lawyers to work for the poor and tribal people who have no means to defend their cases effectively. He also announced that a court of the District and Session Judge would be opened soon in Malkangiri.

Speaking on this occasion, Minister Ramesh Majhi said that people of Umerkote won’t have to go Nabaragnpur for any civil litigation. Some advocates of the Bar handed over a memorandum to the High Court register(Administration) B.K Das, seeking opening of a JMFC court at Dabugam and a Gramaya Adalatat in Raighar.
Senior advocate of Umerkote Bar, Jhadeswar Mohanty gave the vote of thanks. Among other dignitaries, Nabarangpur District & Sessions Judge Kishor Chandra Mahapatro, newly posted Sub-Judge P.K.Mishra, Umerkote JMFC Santunu Kumar Das, Nabarangpur ADM Suradeb Sahu, Umerkote MLA Subash Gond, Nabarangpur MP Pradeep Majhi, Ex-Umerkote MLA Dharmu Gond, Senior lawyer and Nabarangpur District BJD President Jaydeb Parida, Public prosecutor Prakash Mishra, Government prosecutor N.Ahemad, Additional Public Prosecutor Sachita Nanda Swain, Bar council member Bisnu Patro, APPs Monohar Mohanty, Manoranjan Patnaik, Swadhin Patnaik, Pradeep Patnaik senior lawyers of Nabarangpur Bar Jadeswar Khadanga, Arabinda Patnaik and Baba Jogandar were present.

Leave A Reply