Rest of India beat Mumbai to win Irani Trophy


TNI Bureau: Rest of India defeated Mumbai on first innings lead in the final to win Irani Trophy 2013. However, Suresh Raina, who scored 134 and 71 in both innings, was ignored by the selectors for the home test series against Australia.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Rest of India had scored 526 in the first innings. Raina scored 134, while Murali Vijay made 116. Despite an unbeaten 140 from Tendulkar and 80 from Wasim Jaffer, Mumbai could score just 409 and conceded the first innings lead.

In the second innings, Rest of India declared at 389/5. Ambati Rayudu remained unbeaten on 156. There was nothing much left for Mumbai after that. The match ended without a direct result, as they finished at 160/4. Wasim Jaffer remained unbeaten on 101.

Leave A Reply