Malkangiri Wins Inter-State Cricket Tournament

0 376

By Dinesh Patnaik: Bringing laurels to the state, a cricket team from Malkangiri has won the inter-state cricket tournament held in Chhattisgarh. The team came out victorious in the final match to claim the prestigious cup and a sum of Rs.50 thousands.

The ‘Jagdish Rao Cricket Club’ of Malkangiri has won the final match held between them and a team from Hyderabad. In the final, after winning the toss, the Malkangiri team decided to bat first and scored 147 runs in 20 over, while the opponent team could managed to score only 106 runs in chasing.

Sameer Kumar Jena from the Malkangiri team was declared ‘Man of the match’, who took 4 wickets.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

A number of teams from Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha participated this tournament that kicked off from 21st December 2012.

With the captainship of Goutam Kumar Dash, the other players of the Malkangiri team were – Ranjan Naik, Riki, Surendra Bemal, Samir Jena, Chintu, Raju Bosh, T.Prakash, Raju Singh, T. Mohanty, Sai, Bapi Panda, Biswajit Nayak and Bijaya Mohanty.

Many former cricket players and dignitaries have congratulated the team for their success.

Leave A Reply