English Fortnightly. Daily Epaper. 100-Word Edit. Fact Check. Voice of Social Media.

BJD wins 49 out of 66 ULBs in Odisha


The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has secured 48 out of 66 ULBs (that went to polls) in Odisha and helped the Independent candidate to capture Koraput thus by increasing its tally to 49. In addition, the party entered into an understanding to help the BJP capture the Barbil Municipality, while winning Dhenkanal with the support of the saffron party. BJD’s huge success turned out to be a massive mandate for CM Naveen Patnaik.

Naveen_PatnaikIn a big embarrassment to the Congress in Berhampur, five of its candidates resorted in cross voting against the official candidate. BJD got 29 votes even though it won 24 seats in the 40-member Berhampur Municipal Corporation. The Congress won 11 ULBs in Odisha plus Jatni, where it helped the rebel leader to capture the Municipality. The BJP managed to win two ULBs – Rairangpur and Barbil. In Udala, the party took the help of Congress to install the Independent as the Chairperson. The BJD had to bite the dust here.

In Kotpad, the Congress managed to salvage a tie, but BJD candidate had the last laugh in the lottery to win the Chairman’s post. In Bhadrak and Dhenkanal too, BJD won through lot. In Kodala, Independents won the NAC. In Jatni, the Independent candidates backed by the Congress won the Municipality. In Anandpur, the Independent candidates won with the help of Congress Party.

In Koraput, Tara Prasad Bahinipati got a rude shock, as his brother lost the polls. The Congress and BJD were tied at 10-10 seats. However, the BJD lured the Independent candidate with the Chairman’s post, dashing the hopes of the Congress.



Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!