BJD expels Pyari Mohan Mohapatra, Jagneswar Babu


TNI Bureau: In a big development today, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has expelled the suspended members – Rajya Sabha MP Pyari Mohan Mohapatra and OJM Convener Jagneswar Babu for anti-party activities. It was announced by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today.

The decision to expel Pyari Mohan Mohapatra and Jagneswar Babu was taken at the BJD Executive Body Meeting this morning. The BJD Executive unanimously passed the resolution in this regard.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Earlier, Pyari Mohan was suspended from the BJD after the failed coup of May 2009. Jagneswar Babu was also suspended last month after the formation of Odisha Janamorcha.

It was also decided at the meeting that Pyari Mohan Mohapatra will be asked to resign as the Rajya Sabha MP, as he was sent to the Upper House as a BJD member. The State Election Commission would be notified about the decision of the party.

The development holds much importance in the wake of the November 19 rally in Bhawanipatna to be hold by Pyari Mohapatra. Pyari Mohapatra termed this as a conspiracy and vowed to fight back by reaching out to the masses.

Leave A Reply