‘Barfi’ and ‘Kahaani’ sweep 58th Filmfare Awards


TNI Bureau: Dashing actor Ranbir Kapoor and ‘The Dirty Picture’ girl Vidya Balan once again repeated the history and dominated the film industry after winning the Best Actor and Actress at the 58th Idea Filmfare Awards. While ‘Barfi’ won the Best Film award, ‘Kahaani’ won five awards at a gala ceremony, which was held at YRF studios in Mumbai yesterday.

While Ranbir received the award for the film Barfi!, Vidya, who is recently married, bagged the Best Actress award for ‘Kahaani’. Both had previously won the 57th Idea Filmfare Awards in the same categories for ‘Rockstar’ and ‘The Dirty Picture’.

Anurag Kashyap’s ‘Gangs of Wasseypur’ and Anurag Basu’s ‘Barfi!’, which is a tale about a speech and hearing impaired boy’s search for love, dominated the glittering Filmfare Awards.

The award ceremony was opened with outstanding performance by Shahrukh Khan. Singer Usha Uthup also amused the audience and Anushka Sharma also performed at the function.

Here is the list of winners:


Best Actor – Ranbir Kapoor (Barfi!)

Best Actress – Vidya Balan ( Kahaani)

Best Film – Barfi!

Best Director –   Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)

Best Dialogue –  Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Sachin K Ladia, Zeishan Qadri (Gangs of Wasseypur)

Best Screenplay – Sanjay Chouhan & Tigmanshu Dhulia (Paan Singh Tomar)

Best Story – Juhi Chaturvedi (Vicky Donor)

Best Supporting Actor (Male) – Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor)

Best Supporting Actor (Female) – Anushka Sharma (Jab Tak Hai Jaan)

Best Music Director – Pritam (Barfi!)

Best Lyrics – Gulzar (Challa), ‘Jab Tak Hai Jaan’

Best Playback singer (Male) – Ayushmann Khurrana (Paani Da Rang) (Vicky Donor)

Best Playback singer (Female) – Shalmali Kholgade (Pareshaan) (Ishaqzaade)

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

RD Burman Award For Upcoming Talent In Music – Neeti Mohan (Jiya Re) (Jab Tak Hain Jaan)

Lifetime Achievement Award – Yash Chopra

Sony Trendsetter Of The Year – Barfi!

Best Debut (Male) – Ayushmann Khurrana (Vicky Donor)

Best Debut (Female) – Ileana D’Cruz (Barfi!)

Best Debut (Director) –  Gauri Shinde (English Vinglish)



Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male) – Irrfan Khan (Paan Singh Tomar)

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) – Richa Chadda (Gangs of Wasseypur)

Critics’ Award for Best Film – Gangs of Wasseypur



Best Action – Sham Kaushal (Gangs Of Wasseypur)

Best Cinematography – Setu (Kahaani)

Best Editing – Namrata Rao (Kahaani)

Best Production Design – Rajat Podar (Barfi!)

Best Sound Design – Sanjay Maurya & Allwin Rego (Kahaani)

Best Costume Design – Manoshi Nath & Rushi Sharma ( Shanghai)

Best Choreography – Bosco-Caesar (Aunty Ji – Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu)

Best Background Score – Pritam (Barfi!)

Follow us on Twitter & Be our Fan on Facebook.

Leave A Reply