2008 Kandhamal Riots: 12 Sentenced, 22 Acquitted

0 247

TNI Bureau: The Phulbani Fast Track Court-2 has sentenced 12 people to six years in jail in connection with the 2008 Kandhamal riots case. They were convicted of arson and rioting. Another 22 people were acquitted in two separate cases.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The convicted, who were sent to six years in jail, are Arabind Pradhan, Gupteswar Pradhan, Jitendra Pradhan, Kabichandra Pradhan, Sriram Pradhan, Nilachakra Pradhan, Sanjay Pradhan, Angad Pradhan, Biru Pradhan, Saula Pradhan, Satya Pradhan and Rupa Pradhan.

They were also handed over a fine of Rs 5,000 each. If they fail to pay the fine, their jail term would be extended by another year.

Leave A Reply