100-Word Edit: Tale of Two Parties from 1998-2020

BJP, world’s largest political party, got a new President yesterday when JP Nadda took over unopposed. Time and again, BJP has proved its democratic principles by handing over the reins to different people.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

From 1998-2020, BJP got 10 Presidents, including Advani, Gadkari, Rajnath & Amit Shah. But, Congress failed to see beyond Nehru-Gandhi family. It’s Sonia Gandhi over the last 22 years, barring Rahul Gandhi’s two-year term.

While political dynasts exist in all parties, it makes the real difference how a party chooses its supreme leader. Anyone can become a President in BJP. But, same cannot be said for Congress.

Comments are closed.