Suresh Mohapatra – New Chief Secretary of Odisha

Suresh Mohapatra

TNI Bureau:  Suresh Mohapatra, who has been appointed as the next Chief Secretary of Odisha, was born at Kansar village in Deogarh district in 1962, Suresh Mohapatra belongs to Keonjhar district. He passed matriculation from DN High School Keonjhar, B.Sc. from Ravenshaw college in 1982 and M.Sc. Tech Applied Geology from ISM Dhanbad in 1985.

He joined IAS in 1986 after a brief stint in ONGC. After probation in Sambalpur district, he was posted as Sub Collector Nuapada in Kalahandi district for 2 years from 1988 to 1990. He also served as ADM Puri followed by PD DRDA Balasore and Mayurbhanj districts between 1990 to 1993.

Suresh Mohapatra joined as the first Collector of newly formed Bhadrak district in 1993 after the Riots. During the Kandhamal riots, then Chief Minister Biju Patnaik posted him as Collector Kandhamal to manage the riots.

During Naba Kalebar of lords in 1996, he was posted as Collector Puri and removed encroachment around Meghanad pacheri and conducted Naba Kalebar smoothly. Suresh Mohapatra led Omfed as MD for about 6 years and launched many new products.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

He was entrusted with responsibility of CEO, CESU after the power company AES left suddenly. Then after he led GRIDCO as CMD for 3 years, became RDC Cuttack for 2 years. He was appointed as Chief Administrator of Puri temple for 3 years, Principal Secretary of energy department twice, Principal Secretary in Water resources and Additional Chief Secretary Forest and Environment Dept for about 8 years.

During his tenure in Water Resources department, Suresh Mohapatra successfully started the trend setting innovative schemes like mega lift, deep bore well, check dams and eco tourism. These programs, because of their success and potential were replicated and up-scaled in successive years.

Suresh Mohapatra was again posted as Chief Administrator of Puri Temple in 2015 for the second time during which he conducted Nabakalevar of the Deities.

Presently, he is serving as the Additional Chief Secretary and Development Commissioner and working chairman of Temple management committee. He was also sent to handle Kandhamal riots in 2007 and 2008 by CM Naveen Patnaik.


Comments are closed.