Science & Technology for Indigenous Development in India

“Science & Technology for Indigenous Development in India,” is the theme on which top most scientists of the country will delve upon at the 103rd edition of Indian Science Congress from January 3 to 7, 2016.

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will inaugurate the Congress tomorrow morning (January 3, 2016). The Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Governor of Karnataka, Shri.Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala, Chief Minister of Karnataka , Shri. Siddaramiah and other dignitaries from central and state government will participate in the inaugural session.

The Prime Minister Shri  Narendra Modi will also present 28 awards at the inauguration ceremony including six gold medals to Nobel Laureates, ISCA Best Oral Presenter, ISCA Best Poster, ISCA Young Scientists, C.V. Raman Birth Centenary Award.

University of Mysore is all set to host the prestigious Congress at its campus.

The Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan will unveil the Indian Science Congress Mega Expo “Pride of India-Frontier Science & Technologies”  on the inaugural day and this  is to be a major attraction during the five day event that will end on January 7, 2016.

This Pride of India exhibition is open to the general public on all the five days. The cultural events will be held in the evenings from 7 pm to 8.30 pm from January 3 to 6 pm.

Pride of India Expo is spread over an area of 15000 sqm and over 180 organisations are participating in it. Pride of India expo has some major attractions like Hall of Pride, Vigyan Jyot and Genesis . 

Hall of Pride (HoP)  is the most revered segment of PoI Expo. This specially created pavilion is dedicated to the eminent personalities related to science and technology who have contributed immensely towards the progress and welfare of the nation. Some of the personalities portrayed in the earlier editions of HoP are Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, Shri Dhirubhai Ambani, Shri G. D Birla, Prof. Satish Dhawan, Shri Acharaya Prafulla Chandra Ray, Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya etc. At the 103rd Indian Science Congress this prestigious hall will be dedicated to Hon’ble Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam.

Genes is is a one day symposium which is organized concurrent to the ISC with complimenting theme to the main science congress. The objective is to bring scientists, industrialists, academicians and policy makers on a common platform to exchange ideas and explore collaborative opportunities. The theme of XIV Genesis has been aptly chosen as “Realising the Make in India Mission through Indigenous Development – Role of MSME” keeping in view the focal theme of this year’s congress.

Vijyan Jyot— the flame of knowledge – it is a novel initiative of MM Active which was initiated in the year 2010. The aim is to introduce pure science as a career choice amongst the youth and encourage them to opt for this career, thus preparing scientists and innovators for the future. The Vigyan Jyot is inspired by the vision 2020 of our former President Dr. A.P.J  Kalam of making India a powerful and prosperous  nation by reaching the benefits of science and technology to every Indian and enriching the quality of life.

The 5th Women’s Science Congress will be inaugurated by HRD Minster Smt Smriti Zubin Irani at the Crawford Hall on January 4, 2016. As part of Indian Science Congress, the Children Science Congress will be inaugurated by Nobel Laureate Prof. John B. Gurdon, (Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2012) on January 4 at 10 am at the Amphitheatre, Manasagangothri.

The  9th Science Communicators Meet is an initiative for Science communicators for professional growth, this Sammelan will focus on the theme “Science and Technology for Indigenous Development in India”. This meet will have three sessions and will be inaugurated by Nobel Laureate Prof. Dass Shecthman on January 4 at 3 pm.

100 eminent scientists and 400 senior scientists are delivering  30 plenary talks on subjects like Nano Science, Space Science, Technology & Applications, Diabetes, Evolution: The Frontiers, Atomic Energy, Safe water and sanitation, Diseases and drug development, Public-Private  partnership for the Swachh Bharat Mission Initiative.

There will be 400 senior scientists, 400 plenary speakers and 100 eminent speakers delivering talks throughout the five days of ISC. On the opening day (January 3) Bharat Ratna Prof C.N.R. Rao will deliver the Bharat Ratna Sir M Visvesvaraya Lecture on ‘Doing Science in India,’

Noble Laureates Prof Arthur B. McDonald, USA, Prof. Dan Schetman, Israel, Sir John Gurdan, UK, Prof Serge Haroche, France, Prof David J Gross, USA and Fields Medalist Prof. Manjul Bhargava will be the speakers on January 3 at a special panel discussion on the topic Science and Technology: Present and Future.

The Indian Science Congress is being hosted in Karnataka after 13 years and in Mysuru after 34 years.

The preparations are in full swing as the whole of Manasagangotri campus is geared up to receive nearly 15,000 delegates from all over the country and abroad.

Narendra ModiPrime MinisterScience & TechnologyUniversity of Mysore