Ranji Trophy: Odisha lose to Delhi by 10 Wickets


TNI Bureau: In a shameful capitulation by Odisha cricketers helped Delhi win the Ranji Trophy match by 10 points and bag a bonus point. Delhi registered an outright 10-wicket victory over Odisha.

In reply to Odisha’s first innings score of 143, Delhi had scored 331, thanks to Mithun Manhas’ 161* and Sumit Narwal’s 66. Basant Mohanty had taken four wickets.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

In the second innings, Odisha scored 269. Govind Poddar and Biplab Samantray contributed 85 and 47 respectively. Delhi needed 82 to win the match and they scored it without losing any wicket. Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten on 55.

Delhi had lost their first match to Uttar Pradesh, while Odisha had to share points with Tamil Nadu, as their match was washed out due to rains. It should be noted that Delhi played this match without Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

Leave A Reply