Rajnath Singh elected BJP President Unopposed

0 291

TNI Bureau: As expected, senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh has been elected as the BJP President unopposed. He will serve till 2015. All 18 sets of nomination papers filed for him were declared valid. This is the second time Rajnath Singh has taken over as the BJP President.

Earlier, at the BJP Parliamentary Board meeting this morning, veteran leader LK Advani moved the resolution thanking Nitin Gadkari for his service to the party as the BJP President.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Rajnath Singh met LK Advani and Nitin Gadkari before reaching the BJP Headquarters in Delhi where his election as the BJP President was announced at a press conference.

The 62-year-old Rajnath Singh started his political career with Jansangh in 1974. He made his electoral debut in 1977 when he got elected as the MLA in Uttar Pradesh. In 1991, he became an MLC in Uttar Pradesh and became the Education Minister. He was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1994. He also held the post of Uttar Pradesh BJP President in 1997.

Rajnath Singh served as the Union Surface Transport Minister in 1999 and then became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 2000. He held the post of BJP President from 2005 till 2009 and later elected to Lok Sabha from Ghaziabad.

Leave A Reply