OPL Returns, Teams get New Names


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Cricket Association announced for the revival of the Odisha Premier League (OPL) after a gap of two years. The tournament is scheduled to start on May 1 in a new format involving 8 teams, which were renamed as Barabati, Dhauli, Konark, Chilika, Mahanadi, Baitarani, Rushikulya and Subarnarekha.

As per the new format, no auction will be held for players. Each team will have 22 players. A total of 176 players will be selected for the domestic tournament by the OCA and all the players will be divided into four grades such as A, B, C and D.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

For the first time, no franchise will be involved for payment of the players. The OCA will handle everything. However, the government and private companies have been invited to sponsor the teams for conducting the OPL successfully.

The OCA said that all the matches of OPL will be held in at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack) and VSS Stadium, Sambalpur.

Leave A Reply