Odisha Congress gets Tough on Candidate Selection


TNI Bureau: The Congress Party has reportedly taken some bold decision to put its house in order in Odisha while finalising the candidates for 2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly polls. AICC General Secretary and Odisha In Charge, Jagdish Tytler was given the list of probables in 12 districts.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

According to Jagdish Tytler, it has been decided not to give tickets to the candidates, who have lost the polls twice in a row. In addition, only one person from a family will get the ticket, which will put an end to lineage politics and dash the hopes of many aspirants.

Out of 147 assembly seats in Odisha, probables have been named for at least 90 seats. All other probables will be named by March 2013. By the end of March 2013, Congress hopes to come up with the list of all 147 final candidates. So far, the probables have been named for Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Cuttack City, Khordha, Puri, Dhenkanal, Angul and Mayurbhanj.

Leave A Reply