IPL fixing: Mudgal Committee submits reports to SC

IPL fixingThe Justice Mukul Mudgal Committee today filed its final report in probe against N Srinivasan and others in Indian Premier League (IPL) betting and spot-fixing scandal in the Supreme Court. The bench comprising Justice T S Thakur and Ibrahim Kalifulla will take cognizance of the report on 10th of this month.

Cricketers S Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan were three prominent IPL players arrested on allegations of spot-fixing. The former Chennai Super Kings Team Principal Gurunath Meiyappan and Bollywood actor Vindoo Dara Singh were also behind the bars on allegations of betting during the sixth edition of the league. At present, they are all out on bail.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

N Srinivasan had to step down as the President of Board of Control for Cricket in India after Supreme Court had asked him to step down on his own to ensure a fair inquiry into allegations of betting in the Indian Premier League.

The Mudgal committee was set up by the court in October 2013 to probe the spot-fixing allegations. The committee then submitted its report earlier this year in February, which included a sealed envelope containing names of 13 people under suspicion.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly also joined the Mudgal committee earlier in June as an expert on cricketing affairs.

Comments are closed.