Indian Women’s Team remains Winless at T20 World Cup


TNI Burea: Indian women’s cricket team remain winless as it lost by a run against arch-rivals Pakistan in a low-scoring thriller in ICC World Twenty 20`s Group stage on Monday.

Chasing the target of a mere 98 runs, the Indian women fumbled miserably and scored  97 for eight in their 20 overs to finish last in their Group A. India will now have to play the hosts Sri Lanka on Wednesday to remain a part of the event in 2014.

Despite a win, the Pakistani women also failed to qualify for the semifinals as they finished third in the four-team group ahead of India.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Electing to bat first, the Pakistani batting woes was no better than India with wickets falling at regular intervals. Skipper Sana Mir scored 26 with 2 fours. Abidi and Asmavia Iqbal contributed 25 and 10 respectively.

The Indian bowlers put up a remarkable show by picking up wickets as well as conceding very few. Pacer Jhulan Goswami, Rasanara Parwin and Anuja Patil tokk two wickets each. However, the poor batting performance spoiled all the hard woks of the bowlers. Top scoreer Jhulan managed to score 21.

Earlier India was defeated by both Australia and England in the Goup A matches

Leave A Reply