India Win Cricket Blind T20 World Cup, 2012


TNI Bureau: India has won the Cricket Twenty20 World Cup 2012 for blind on Friday by defeating archrival Pakistan by 29 runs in the title clash in Bangalore.

Ketan Bhai Patel guided India to 258 with a hurricane knock of 98 of 43 balls, while Prakash Jayaramaiah contributed 42 and vice-captain Ajay Kumar Reddy scored 25.

The hosts restricted the visitors to 229 for 9 in the allotted 20 overs. In a desperate attempt to accelerate the run-rate and chase the target, Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals. For Pakistan, Mohammed Jameel posted a breezy 47, while Ali Murthaza made 38 and Mohammed Akram scored 32.

For India, Pankaj Bhue was the most successful bowler with three wickets for 37 runs.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Patel was adjudged man of the match. He also bagged the Man of the Series award in the fully blind category, while Jayaramaiah in the partially blind category and Reddy in the partial vision category.

The victory is India’s first in a World Cup final after they lost to Pakistan in 2006. It was pleasant to watch the delirious fans lifting Indian captain Shekar Naik on their shoulders after the match.

Besides hosts India and Pakistan, the other participants in the tournament were Australia, Bangladesh, England, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Nepal .

Karnataka Rajya Sabha member and Congress general secretary Oscar Fernandes and Sri Lankan legendary batsman Arjuna Ranatunga presented the awards.

Leave A Reply