Hyderabad Hotshots win IBL 2013

The Hyderabad Hotshots registered an emphatic 3-1 victory over the Awadhe Warriors to lift the inaugural Indian Badminton League title. Saina Nehwal led the Hyderabad team with a 7-0 win-loss record in this tournament.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Saina-IBLK Srikanth stunned S Tanongsak of Hyderabad Hotshots 21-12, 21-20 in the first men’s singles to give his team a 1-0 lead. However, that was the only solace for Awadhe Warriors, as Hyderabad bounced back to win the next three games.

Saina Nehwal thrashed PV Sindhu 21-15, 21-7 to level the score. V Shem Goh and Khim Wah Lim of Hyderabad Hotshots defeated Markis Kido and Mathias Boe 21-14, 13-21, 11-4 to give their team a 2-1 lead. Ajay Jayaram beat RMV Gurusaidutt 10-21 21-17 11-7 in the second men’s singles to give his team an unassailable 3-1 lead. Hyderabad became the first winner of the IBL title.

Comments are closed.