Deodhar Trophy: 3 Odisha Players in East Zone Team


Three Odisha players Biplab Samantray, Govind Poddar and pacer Basant Mohanty have been inducted into the 15-member East Zone team for the Deodhar Trophy 2013. Arabind Singh and Suryakant Pradhan from the state has been named the stand-by players.

These players got selected on the basis of their performance in Vijay Hazare Trophy. Even though Odisha failed to qualify for the knock-out stage, Biplab, Basant and Govind impressed the selectors. Wridhiman Saha from West Bengal will lead the team.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Assam, which finished runners-up in the tournament, has the lion’s share. Five players from the state got a place in the team. Three players each from Jharkhand and Bengal are also in the team. One player hails from Tripura. Deodhar Trophy will be played in Guwahati from March 10.

East Zone Team:

Wridhiman Saha (C/WK), Shami Ahmed, Iresh Saxena, Biplab Samantray, Govind Poddar, Basant Mohanty, Pallav Das, Shiv Shankar Roy, Pritam Das, Gokul Sharma, Abu Nachem, Ishank Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwari, S Nadeem and Mani Shankar Mura Singh.

Leave A Reply