Alice Munro wins Nobel Prize for Literature at 82

Canadian writer, Alice Munro, who is one of the pioneers in the development of short stories, has won the Nobel Prize for Literature at the age of 82. Munro, who hails from Wingham, has described the news as “This is so surprising and wonderful”.

Alice MunroThe Royal Swedish Academy has called Alice Munro as “master of the contemporary short story”. she became the 13th woman to win the Nobel Prize for Literature. German writer Herta Müller was the last woman to win this coveted award in 2009.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Here is a List of Short Story Collections by Alice Munro:

1. “Dance of the Happy Shades” (1968)
2. “Lives of Girls and Women” (1971)
3. “Something I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You” (1974)
4. “Who Do You Think You Are?” (1978) (“The Beggar Maid” in U.S. editions)
5. “The Moons of Jupiter” (1982)
6. “The Progress of Love” (1986)
7. “Friend of My Youth” (1990)
8. “Open Secrets” (1994)
9. “The Love of a Good Woman” (1998)
10. “Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage” (2001)
11. “Runaway” (2004)
12. “The View From Castle Rock” (2006)
13. “Too Much Happiness” (2009)
14. “Dear Life” (2012)

Comments are closed.