Abhay Chautala elected as IOA President


TNI Bureau: Abhay Singh Chautala has been elected President of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA). Chautala’s victory was certain after Randhir Singh withdrew his nomination on last Sunday.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Lalit Bhanot, who is an accused in CWG scam, was elected unopposed as the Secretary General. Bhanot was jailed along with former IOA president Suresh Kalmadi and VK Verma in connection with the CWG scam, but later got bail.

Virendra Nanavati was elected Senior Vice-President while N Ramachandran will be the Treasurer. An IOA delegation comprising Hockey India Secretary General Narendra Batra and lawyer RK Anand will go to Lausanne to convince the IOC officials in the wake of their threat to de-recognise IOA from the International Olympic Committee.

Leave A Reply