11 Odisha Ministers are found to be Crorepatis!


TNI Bureau: Eleven Odisha ministers including Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik were found to be millionaires (Crorepatis) after they declared their assets on official website yesterday. While finance minister Prasanna Acharya and Revenue minister Surjya Narayan Patro’s assets have been doubled between 2010 and 2012, BJD’s youth icon I&PR and Energy minister Arun Sahu could not be listed in the crorepati category as he possesses only Rs 24.47 lakh property, which is the lowest as compared to other ministers.

Once again Naveen continues to be the richest minister in the cabinet and his property remained unchanged in the past one year. He owns a movable and immovable property of Rs 12.06 crore. No more assets have been added to his list of property, as per the property statement submitted by Naveen on Thursday.

His property includes an Ambassador car of 1980 model. He has the bank deposits of Rs 18 lakh and jewellry worth Rs 1.5 lakh. He has inherited agriculture land of 22.7 acres in Haryana. The property is of his mother Gyan Patnaik, whose worth is Rs 3.43 crore. His inherited property (1/3rd share) from his father late Biju Patnaik worths Rs 5.14 crore at Aurangzeb Road in New Delhi and 2/3rd share from Naveen Nivas is valued at Rs 2.8 crore. His share at Anand Bhavan in Cuttack values is valued at Rs 51 lakh only.

The list shows that the CM has not added anything more to his movable and immovable property, maintaining his image clear before the people of Odisha.

However, Prasanna Acharya’s property has been increased in past one year even before getting the portfolio of finance in the Odisha cabinet. He owns a total property of Rs 5.74 crore, his wife Charusila has assets worth Rs 1.2 crore. There is a building, which is valued at Rs 56 lakh at Saileshree Vihar in Bhubaneswar in her name, two buildings worth Rs 11.55 lakh in Bargarh. He has the movable and immovable property of over Rs 35.28 lakh and Rs 4.77 crore respectively. He has a share of Rs 38 lakh in immovable and Rs 22.9 lakh in movable property from his ancestors.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Similarly, Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Surjya Narayan Patro owns Rs 3.75 crore movable and immovable properties. He has also invested in Life Insurance Corporation (LIC), mutual funds and fixed deposits. His wife Rajashree Patro owns about Rs Rs 35 lakh asets.

While, Minister of State for Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare Pratap Deb  has a total assets of Rs 2.19 crore, Panchayati Raj Minister Kalpataru Das owns a movable and immovable property of Rs 1.52 crore.

Health Minister Damodar Raout, who is known for his controversial statements, owns over Rs 1 crore . He and his wife have 3 buildings in Erasama worth Rs 5 lakh, a buidling worth Rs 10 lakh in Tirtol and a house valued at Rs 40 lakh at Sahid Nagar in Bhubaneswar.

Forest Minister Bijayshree Routray owns over Rs 3 crore properties. Rural Development minister Bikram Keshari Aarukh’s assets have been increased from Rs 1.66 crore to Rs 1.70 crore in past one year. Agriculture minister Devi Prasad Mishra possesses Rs 1.67 crore, while Tourism minister Maheswar Mohanty shows his property value at Rs 1.22 crore. Industry minister Niranjan Pujari possesses a total property of Rs 1.92 crore.

Here is the complete list of Crorepati Ministers:

1. Naveen Patnaik (CM) – Rs 12.06 crore
2. Prasanna Acharya –  Rs 5.74 crore
3. Surjya Narayan Patro – Rs 3.75 crore
4. Pratap Deb – Rs Rs 2.19 crore
5. Kalpataru Das – Rs 1.52 crore
6. Damodar Raout – over Rs 1 crore
7. Bijayshree Routray – over Rs 3 crore
8. Bikram Keshari Aarukh – Rs 1.70 crore
9. Devi Prasad Mishra – Rs 1.67 crore
10. Maheswar Mohanty – Rs 1.22 crore
11. Niranjan Pujari – Rs 1.92 crore

Leave A Reply