13 Districts of Seemandhra plunge into Darkness

The Telagana stalemate continues unabated. At least 13 districts in Seemandhra region have plunged into darkness for the third consecutive day, as the employees of power corporations have gone on an indefinite strike, protesting against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

power-tariffThe Vijaywada Thermal Power Station has completely shut down, while other power production at Kadapa and Srisailam plants have been badly affected, resulting in a crisis for Andhra Pradesh, which requires 5000 MW of power daily.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The YSR Congress led by Jagan Mohan Reddy, is spearheading the agitation. Houses and properties of many Congress leaders have been attacked in the last two days. Jagan has gone on an indefinite fast, while Chandrababu Naidu (TDP) has launched a fast in Delhi.

The public services such as bus, train, and air traffic have been worst hit due to the power strike. The common life have come to a standstill, while essential commodities are not easily available. The Banks, ATMs, Petrol Pumps, Traffic System and many other services are affected. It is believed that the centre may impose President’s Rule in Andhra Pradesh if the situation does not improve in the next couple of days.

Comments are closed.