Zimbabwe register Historic Test Win over Pakistan

Minnows Zimbabwe scored a dramatic 24-run victory over Pakistan in the second test match in Harare to end 12-year-long drought. The last time they won a Test match in June 2011. At that time, they had a strong team with players like Andy Flower, Grant Flower, Guy Whittal, Blignaut, Heath Streak, Henry Olonga, Neil Johnson etc. The last win came against India.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Today’s victory was historic, as the Zimbabwean cricket is struggling to recover from their crisis era. Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq was shocked with this humiliating defeat against Zimbabwe. He blamed his batsmen for the loss. Pakistan had won the first Test match by 221 runs.

In the second Test, Zimbabwe had scored 299 in the first innings. In reply, Pakistan bowled out for 230. In the second innings, Zimbabwe was restricted to 199. The victory target for Pakistan was 264. But, despite Misbah’s unbeaten 79, Pakistan bowled out for 239 and lost the match by 24 runs. Fast bowler Tendai Chatara took five wickets. The Test series ended 1-1.

Comments are closed.