Voting Percentage in Kandhamal revised to 68.55%

Kandhamal-BypollAfter getting final data from the district, the State Election Commission (SEC) has revised the voting percentage in Kandhamal bypoll from 62.71% to 68.55%. Still, it is much less than the previous voting percentage recorded during 2014 general elections. In April, 74% polling was reported from Kandhamal.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

According to the latest data, Kantamal recorded 76% polling, followed by Boudh (74.2%), Baliguda (70.38%), Phulbani (69.01%), Daspalla (65.24%), G. Udayagiri (65.24%) and Bhanjanagar (59.83%).

In total, seven candidates are in the fray in Kandhamal, but the main fight will be between Pratyusha Rajeswari Singh (BJD), Rudra Madhav Ray (BJP) and Abhimanyu Behera (Congress). The bypoll was necessitated following the death of BJD MP Hemendra Chandra Singh on September 5. Results will be declared on October 19.

Comments are closed.