ULB Polls in Western Odisha: 1,102 Candidates in Fray

After the withdrawal of nomination papers by 78 candidates, 1,102 candidates remained in fray for the elections in 20 ULBs in Western Odisha. The BJD leads the tally with 301 candidates, while the Congress and BJP have fielded 240 and 268 candidates respectively. No nomination papers were filed in Balangir Municipality and Titilagarh NAC. The elections will be held on November 22.

EVM1Five candidates were declared winners unopposed. They are Smt. Kalpana Majhi (BJD) and Smt. Subarna Bhoi (BJD) in Bargarh Municipality, Smt. Mati Majhi (BJD) and Smt. Parvati Sahoo (BJD) in Tarbha NAC and Smt. Gurubari Sethy (BJD) in Binka NAC.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The highest number of valid nomination papers were received at Brajarajnagar Municipality. 113 candidates remain in the fray in 23 wards after the deadline was over. The lowest number of candidates (31) was reported in Tarbha NAC.

The ULBs that will go to polls, include Patnagarh NAC, Kantabanji NAC, Bargarh Municipality, Barpali NAC, Padmapur NAC, Deogarh Municipality, Brajarajnagar Municipality, Jharsuguda Municipality, Bhawanipatna Municipality, Kesinga NAC, Junagarh NAC, Khariar Road NAC, Khariar NAC, Kuchinda NAC, Sonepur Municipality, Binka NAC, Tarbha NAC, Biramitrapur Municipality, Rajgangpur Municipality and Sundargarh Municipality.

Comments are closed.