Telangana Fallout: Chiranjeevi resigns from Cabinet

Protesting over the proposed bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and carving out of a separate Telangana state, two Union Ministers K Chiranjeevi and Surya Prakash Reddy tendered their resignations to the Prime Minister’s Office.

ChiranjeeviChiranjeevi holds the portfolio of Tourism in the Union Cabinet. Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy holds the post of Minister of State for Railways. The duo faxed their resignation letters to the PMO tonight. MoS for HRD, Pallam Raju has reportedly offered to resign too. Minister of State (MoS) for Textiles, KS Rao may resign shortly.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Meanwhile, YSR Congress leader Jagan Mohan Reddy has called for a 72-hour bandh in Andhra Pradesh from tomorrow, protesting against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh. All vehicles going to Tirupati have been banned till further notice to prevent any untoward incident.

At least three Congress MPs, including Undavalli Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry) and L Rajagopal (Vijayawada) resigned from the party. Rajgopal has decided to move the Supreme Court against the move.

Comments are closed.