Telangana to become 29th State of India

The Congress-led UPA has finally given the go-ahead to the formation of a separate Telangana state, which will be carved out of Andhra Pradesh. The Congress Working Committee (CWC) has also approved the decision. The Union Cabinet will ratify the decision tomorrow. However, it could take 4-5 months for Telangana to become a reality.

TelanganaThe UPA Coordination Committee chaired by Sonia Gandhi, took the decision in favour of a separate Telangana state, in a bid to fulfill the aspirations of the people in that region. The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has welcomed the decision, but said that they are wary of the Congress and would wait till the bill comes up in Lok Sabha. TRS has refused to accept Hyderabad as a shared capital.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Hyderabad will be the shared capital of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for 10 years. After that, Andhra Pradesh will have a new capital. Telangana will have 10 districts and won’t have any areas from Rayalseema. Andhra Pradesh will consist of Rayalseema and Coastal Andhra Pradesh.

While a divided Congress, BJP and TRS favour a separate Telangana state, the TDP and YSR Congress have batted for a Unified Andhra Pradesh. Massive deployment of police forces and paramilitary troops has been made to maintain law and order. Andhra Pradesh CM Kiran Kumar Reddy, who is not favour of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, has been persuaded to fall in line. Many other MPs and Ministers from the Congress are also opposed to Telangana.

The BJP has termed the decision as a victory for Telangana people. The party has warned the Congress not to backtrack on its decision. People in Hyderabad have erupted into joy and celebration soon after the decision was made public.

Comments are closed.