Outstanding Parliamentarian Award Announced


Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley, Congress MP Karan Singh and JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav have been selected for the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award. While Jaitely will receive the award for the year 2010, the honour would be conferred to Karan Singh and Sharad Yadav for the year 2011 and 2012 respectively.

Jaitely is the Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Karan Singh is the Upper House MP from Delhi and Yadav is the Lok Sabha MP from Madhepura, Bihar.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The award was announced on Wednesday after Indian Parliamentary Group accepted the recommendation of the parliamentary award committee headed by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The awards for three years will be conferred at a function later.

The Award is conferred each year since 1995 to the best Parliamentarian recommended by the Committee and approved by the Executive Committee of the Indian Parliamentary Group, which had instituted the award in 1994.

Leave A Reply