Odisha stun Karnataka in Ranji Trophy


TNI Bureau: In a big breaking development, Odisha defeated mighty Karnataka in a crucial Ranji Trophy match in Bangalore today. This is Odisha’s second successive victory in Ranji Trophy. They had earlier beaten Haryana in Rohtak. This is the first time Odisha have won a match against Karnataka in Ranji Trophy.

Chasing a victory target of 245, Karnataka bowled out for 179 in the second innings and lost the match by 65 runs. Uthappa was the top scorer with 45, while Amit Verma (27) and Stuart Binny (42) were the other top contributors. Basant Mohanty, Biplab Samantray and Deepak Behera took two wickets each. Alok Sahoo took three wickets.

Odisha had scored 202 in the first innings. Karnataka had scored 213. In the second innings, Odisha made 255, thanks to Biplab Samantray’s 86. Odisha moved to the top of the points table in Group B with two consecutive wins. Biplab Samantray was declared ‘Man of the Match’ for his all-round performance.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

On victory against Karnataka, Biplab said, “The taste was just awesome…Great team effort…Hopefully we will continue it…!!!!”


Odisha 202 (Natraj Behera 61, Biplab 28, Subhrajit 45; Vinay Kumar 3/31, Sharath 2/47, Akshay 4/40) & 255 (Alok Sahoo 37, Biplab 86, Subhrajit 48, Lagnajit 20*; Vinay Kumar 7/58, Akshay 2/43).

Karnataka 213 (Pawan 25, Uthappa 43, Amit Verma 26, Gautam 28, Akshay 24; Deepak Behera 3/46, Biplab 2/40, Lagnajit 2/8) & 179 (Uthappa 45, Amit Verma 27, Stuart Binny 42; Basant 2/31, Biplab 2/28, Deepak 2/38, Alok Sahoo 3/27).

Leave A Reply