Nation Pays Tribute to Martyrs of Parliament Attack

0 243

TNI Bureau: Nation pays homage to the martyrs of terrorist attack on Parliament. It was on this day in 2001, heavily armed-terrorists attacked the temple of democracy in the heart of the national capital.

A group of five terrorists entered the parliament complex and opened fire indiscriminately. A gun battle took place between the attackers and police during which all the terrorists were killed.

Six security men, four Delhi Police personnel and one each from the CRPF and Parliament watch-and -ward staff were killed in the attack and as many as 18 persons received injuries.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Honourable President, Vice President, Prme Minister, Speaker and MPs across party lines today paid tribute to those who died in the attack. A blood donation camp was also organised by the Red Cross Society to mark 10 years of the Parliament attack.

Afzal Guru, the mastermind in the parliament attack, was sentenced to death on 18th December, 2002, by a trial court, which was upheld by the Delhi High Court on 29th October, 2003. The Supreme Court also rejected his appeal on 4th August, 2005.

His mercy plea is pending. Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde has said he will study the file after Parliament’s winter session, which ends on 22nd December.

However, the demand for execution of Guru is rising after the hanging of Pakistani terrorist, Ajmal Kasab.

Leave A Reply