Mumbai Indians reach Semifinals of CLT20

Sachin Tendulkar was out for a duck! But, Rohit Sharma played a blinder of 51* off 24 balls to take Mumbai Indians to the semifinals of CLT20 2013. Mumbai became the third Indian team after Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals to move into the semis. They defeated Perth Scorchers by 6 wickets.

Mumbai-IndiansIt’s a heartbroken story for Otago Volts, who just had one bad match yesterday against the Rajasthan Royals, which also ended their 15-match winning streak. But, they are out of the semifinals race despite being the most favoured team to win the tournament.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Mumbai won the toss and elected to field first. Perth posted 149/6 in 20 overs. Ashton Agar (35), Cartwright (28) and Sam Whiteman (51*) were the top contributors. Nathan Coulter-Nile took three wickets, while Pragyan Ojha took two wickets.

Mumbai Indians reached 152/4 in just 13.2 overs and won the match by six wickets. Dwayne Smith made 48, while Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten on 51. Kieron Pollard scored 23. Jason Behrendorff and Brad Hogg took two wickets each.

Mumbai took less overs to improve their run rate and leave Otago behind in the points table although both teams tied at 10 points. Rajasthan Royals topped the group with four wins from as many matches.

Comments are closed.