English Fortnightly. Daily Epaper. 100-Word Edit. Fact Check. Voice of Social Media.

Mithali Raj to lead Indian squad in ICC Women’s World Cup

0 188

TNI Bureau: India has named Mithali Raj as the captain of the 15-member women’s cricket squad for the World Cup to be played in India.

The experienced middle order batswoman earlier led India in its first World Cup final in 2005, in South Africa, against Australia who proved just too strong.

30-year-old Mithali now claims the top spot in the ICC one-day batting rankings.

ICC Women’s World Cup will begin on the 31st of this month. The finals will be played at CCI ground in Mumbai on February 17.

Hosts India will play on the opening day of the tournament against the West Indies at the Wankhede Stadium.

The members of the Indian Squad are: Mithali Raj (C), Harmanpreet Kaur, Jhulan Goswami, Amita Sharma, Gouhar Sultana, M Thirushkamini, Sulakshana Naik, Ekta Bist, Mona Meshram, Rasanara Parwin, Niranjana Nagarajan, Punam Raut, Reema Malhotra, Karuna Jain and Shubhalaxm Sharma.

Leave A Reply

error: Content is protected !!