Left Front posts Huge Win, retains Tripura


The Left Front returned to power with a landslide victory for fifth time in the 60-member Assembly in Tripura. While CPI(M) won 45 seats, CPI got one seat in the polls.

Left Front headed for a two-thirds majority defeating Congress and its ally INPT. This is the fifth term for the ruling Left front since 1993 in the state.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

While Chief Minister Manik Sarkar won the Dhanpur Assembly seat defeating his rival Shah Alam by 6,017 votes, Congress candidate Jitendra Sarkar won from Barjala.

Along with CM, Jail Minister Manindra Reang, Finance Minister Badal Chowdhury, Agriculture Minister Aghore Debbarma and Industries Minister Jitendra Chowdhury were the winners in the assembly polls.

Leave A Reply