Kumble appointed as Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee


TNI Bureau: Former India captain and spin wizard, Anil Kumble, has been appointed as Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee. He replaces Clive Lloyd, the former West Indies captain, who had headed it since 2008. Kumble would be the second Indian to head the committee after Sunil Gavaskar.

According to an ICC media release, the ICC board at a meeting in Colombo earlier this week unanimously agreed Kumble’s nomination. Kumble has been given a two-year term. The Cricket Committee meets twice a year and the second meeting of the year is likely to be held in November.

Praising Kumble’s appointment, ICC president Allan Isaac said he was confident the former India captain would bring all his extensive experience as a player and as an administrator to the ICC cricket panel.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

“In Anil Kumble, we have a new chairman who has unquestioned experience not only as a player with India but also as an administrator with Karnataka State Cricket Association. I am sure that he will carry on Clive’s good work and bring, like Andrew Strauss, contemporary thinking to the committee as both understand clearly the issues facing the modern game,” Issac said.

Kumble, 41, took 619 wickets in 132 Test and 337 wickets in 271 ODIs wickets during his illustrious 18-year international career.

For Kumble, this is another shot in the arm after the BCCI appointed him as the head of the technical committee after the board’s AGM last month.

Besides Anil Kumble,The ICC Cricket Committee includes Allan Isaac, Dave Richardson, Geoff Allardice, Andrew Strauss, Mark Taylor, Kumar Sangakkara, Tim May, Gary Kirsten, Clare Connor, David White, Trent Johnston, Ravi Shastri, Steve Davis, Ranjan Madugalle and David Kendix.

Leave A Reply