Congress wins Majority to form Govt in Himachal Pradesh

0 243

TNI Bureau: Congress won majority to form the government in Himachal Pradesh despite BJP’s efforts to regain power in the state. With large number of voting in favour of Congress, it is set to oust the saffron party government. However, all eyes are now on who will be the Chief Minister.

It is a major setback for the BJP, which ruled the state for five years but could not able to gain people’s confidence to retain in the power. While Congress has won 36 seats, BJP gained only 23 seats and leading in 3 seats, others won 6 seats in the 68-member assembly, as per the latest results.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

While Former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister and state Congress president Virbhadra Singh won from Shimla(Rural) constituency defeating his BJP rival Ishwar Rohal by 19,033 votes. Singh is a strong contender for the post of Chief Minister.

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Polls (Total seats 68) Majority: 35

Party Leads Wins
Congress 0 36
BJP 3 23
Others 0 6



Leave A Reply