Australia thrash India in First ODI in Pune


In their quest to register a 5-2 series win, which will help them to regain the No. 1 spot in the ICC ODI rankings, Australia drew the first blood, as they registered a thumping 72-run victory over India in the first ODI at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune to take a 1-0 lead in the seven-match series.

George BaileyAustralia won the toss and elected to bat first. They posted 304/8 in 50 overs, thanks to Phillip Hughes (47), Aaron Finch (72), George Bailey (85), Glenn Maxwell (31) and James Faulkner (27). For India, Ashwin and Yuvraj took two wickets each.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Chasing a victory target of 205, India lost Shikhar Dhawan (7) early. Rohit Sharma (42), Virat Kohli (61) and Suresh Raina (39) showed some character. But, their departure put India on the back foot. Yuvraj perished at 7.

None of the Indian batsmen, including skipper MS Dhoni could face the spirited bowling attack from the Kangaroos and bowled out for 232 in 49.4 overs. James Faulkner took three wickets, while Clint McKay and Shane Watson took two wickets each.

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!