Arun Sahoo reviews Rural Electrification in Koraput


Koraput: Energy and I & PR Minister Shri Arun Kumar Sahoo attended the meeting on rural electrification in three districts of undivided Koraput and reviewed the progress. Mr. Sahoo held the meeting at the Power House conference hall in Upper Kolab. He reviewed the work done under Rajiv Gandhi Electrification and Biju Gramya Jyoti Yojana in Koraput, Rayagada and Nabarangpur districts.

The meeting was attended by all senior officials of these districts along with the Southco officials. Shri Aruns Sahoo lamented the lack of coordination between the contractors and Southco officials in implementing the projects in Rayagada district and directed the district collector to review the work details. In Rayagada, 1,586 beneficiaries out of 1,995 BPL card holders have been given electricity.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

In Nabarangpur district, 1,210 out of 1,612 BPL beneficiaries have been give electricity. Shri Arun Sahu said, “if all poor and BPL families are given electricity, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s dream of ‘Power, Road and Water’ dream would be fulfilled.” He expressed satisfaction over the work in Koraput district, where 59,005 out of 1,76,000 beneficiaries have been given electricity.

Mr. Sahoo further said that even if the electrification work is satisfactory in Biju Gramya Jyoti Yojana, the Biju Saharanchal Electrification is moving on a tardy pace. He asked the concerned authorities to complete all pending work by December 31. He also ordered Southco to purchase an additional 200 transformers so that the faulty ones could be replaced immediately. He also asked the Southco officials not to switch off their mobile phones so that they always remain accessible to the common people.

Among others, School & Mass Education Minister Rabi Narayan Nanda, Koraput MLA Raghuram Podal, Nabarangpur MLA Manohar Randhari, Umerkote MLA Subas Gond, Additional Secretary of Energy Department, CP Mohanty, Koraput District Collector Sachin Ramachandra Jadhwa, Nabarangpur District Collector Jamini Sarangi and many others attended the meeting.

Leave A Reply