Vijay Kumar, Yogeshwar to get Khel Ratna, Arjuna for Yuvi


TNI Bureau: After London Olympics, the time is now for giving awards to the sportsperson, who have made the country proud. Silver medallist Vijay Kumar and bronze medallist Yogeshwar Dutt have been nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award while Yuvraj Singh will be among 25 to get the Arjuna Award.

While the pistol shooter Vijay Kumar will get the award for winning a silver in the 25m rapid fire event, Yogeshwar was recommended for bringing a bronze for the country in 60kg free style event at the London Olympics.

Cricketer Yuvraj Singh, who is preparing for a comeback after recovering from a rare germ cell cancer, is among the 25 sportsmen, who will get the Arjuna Award.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The final list of award winners is expected to be announced in a couple of days by the Sports Ministry.

According to PTI report, Hockey mid-fielder Sardar Singh, wrestler Geeta Phogat, and Narsingh Yadav, shooters Annu Raj Singh and Omkar Singh, shuttlers P Kashyap and Ashwini Ponappa, archers Deepika Kumari and Bombayla Devi will get the Arjuna Award.

The names recommended by the the Arjuna Awards and Khel Ratna Committee, headed by Athens Olympics silver medallist shooter Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, were approved by the Sports Ministry.

Earlier, other medallists at the London Games – Mary Kom, Gagan Narang, Sushil Kumar and Saina Nehwal – have already received the prestigious sports award.

Leave A Reply