Turmoil in BCCI, Top Officials Resign


Two top BCCI officials – Treasurer Ajay Shirke and Secretary Sanjay Jagdale – have resigned from their posts in order to mount pressure on the cricket board’s president N Srinivasan in the wake of the betting scandal in IPL. Several other members may quit today or in the next few days if Srinivasan does not step down.

Jagdale was deeply hurt by the spot-fixing crisis that has tarnished the image of Indian cricket.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

On the other hand, BCCI Vice President and BJP leader Arun Jaitley broke his silence on Saturday ahead of the special board meeting. He told the media persons to wait for a day to hear something significant today.

Srininvasan is under pressure following the arrest of his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan for his alleged involvement in illegal betting. After Shirke and Jagdale’s resignations, the BCCI chief is now virtually a lame duck. If others will quit, he will have no option but to step down.

The BCCI has five vice presidents – Arun Jaitley, Shivlal Yadav, Chitrak Mitra, Niranjan Shah and Sudhir Dabir. However, Chitrak Mitra ruled out his resignation to put pressure on Srinivasan.

Leave A Reply