Turbulence in Railways: 6 Ministers in Two Years


The Indian Railways is going through a tough phase after the exit of Mamata Banerjee following her coronation as the Chief Minister of West Bengal in May 2011. There is no reason to suggest that Mamata took the Railways to the highest level. But, after her departure, the department has become a laughing stock with 5 Ministers in just two years.

RailwaysAfter Mamata Banerjee, Trinamool Congress MP Dinesh Trivedi took over as the Railway Minister in July 2011. He was considered as a ‘Man of Reforms’. However, he fell out with Mamata and got ousted in an unceremonious manner. After Trivedi, Mukul Roy took over in March 2012. He had to resign six months later, as Mamata pulled out of the UPA Government at the Centre.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

The Congress Party decided to retain Railways after a long gap of 17 years. CP Joshi was put at the helm, but for just one month. Pawan Kumar Bansal was sworn-in as the Railway Minister on October 28, 2012. During his tenure, the Railways was shamed after his nephew Vijay Singla was caught red-handed in a Rs 10-crore bribery case. Despite showing strong resistance, Bansal was asked to resign on May 10, 2013.

The portfolio once again came to CP Joshi, who held that for just one month. Finally, Mallikarjun Kharge was given the charge of turbulent Railways. Can he survive for long? Can he do a better job as compared to his predecessors and restore the lost pride and glory of the Indian Railways? Let’s wait and watch!

Comments are closed.