Trinamool Congress makes debut in UP Assembly


TNI Bureau: The day, which witnessed the marginalisation of Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee in Indian politics over the issue of Presidential Polls, Didi had some reasons to smile, as her party won three assembly seats in the bypolls.

TRinamool’s victory in Bankura and Daspur assembly seats in West Bengal was a foregone conclusion. However, the TMC created history by bagging the Mat Assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh. This is for the first time the Trinamool won an assembly seat in India’s largest state.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

TMC candidate Shyam Sundar Sharma defeated his nearest rival Yogesh Nauhwar of RLD by 6,604 votes. Samajwadi Party candidate finished third in this election. T

The by-poll in Mat was necessitated following the resignation of sitting MLA and RLD national general secretary Jayant Chaudhary. Jayant retained the Mathura Lok Sabha seat.

Leave A Reply