Sydney Sixers win CLT20 2012 Title


TNI Bureau: The clash of the titals turned out to be a battle of of mismatch in the end, as Sydney Sixers thrashed the Highveld Lions by 10 wickets in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) in Johannesburg.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Sydney Sixers won the toss and elected to field first. They restricted the Lions to 121 in 20 overs. Jean Symes was the top scorer with 51, while Thami Tsolekile and Dwaine Pretorius made 20 and 21 respectively. Nathan McCullum and Josh Hazelwood took three wickets each.

Chasing a victory target of 122, Sydney Sixers made a mockery of the Lions’ bowling attack and reached the target in just 12.3 overs without losing a wicket. Michael Lumb remained unbeaten on 82 off 42 balls with 8 boundaries and 5 sixes. Brad Haddin remained not out on 37. Michael Lumb was declared ‘Man of the Match’, while Mitchell Starc won the ‘Man of the Series’ award.

Leave A Reply