Rajasthan beat Otago, remain Unbeaten in Group A


The Rajasthan Royals ended the 15-match winning streak of Otago Volts to top Group A with four wins from as many matches. They have already qualified for the semifinals of CLT20. Rajasthan’s victory revived hopes of Mumbai Indians for a semifinal berth.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Rajasthan won the toss and elected to field first. Otago could score just 139/7 in 20 overs. Their top order failed miserably. From 21/4 at one stage, they reached 139, thanks to Ryan ten Doeschate (26), Jimmy Nessham (32), Nathan McCullum (28*) and Ian Butler (25). For Rajasthan, Rahul Shukla took three wickets.

Chasing a victory target of 140, Rajasthan lost four wickets for 72 on board. Ajinkya Rahane stood rock, as he made 52. Brad Hodge did a cameo with 52* 23 balls with 5 boundaries and 3 sixes. That sealed the fate of the game. Neesham took three wickets, while Wagner took two wickets. Rahul Shukla was declared ‘Man of the Match’.

Comments are closed.