President’s Rule imposed in Jharkhand


TNI Bureau: It’s official now. Jharkhand was brought under President’s Rule yet again 10 days after Arjun Munda-led government BJP government had to resign following the withdrawal of support by JMM.

President Pranab Mukherjee signed the proclamation today. The Union Cabinet had recommended President’s Rule in the state on the basis of report received from the state Governor.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Jharkhand is considered as the most politically unstable state in India. It has seen eight governments since 2000, including the imposition of President’s Rule thrice. The state was formed 12 years ago.

In the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly, BJP and JMM have 18 MLAs each. The Congress has 13 MLAs. The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (P) has 11 seats. All Jharkhand Students’ Union has six MLAs, while RJD has five. The JD(U) has two MLAs in the Jharkhand Assembly.

Leave A Reply